Blade Runner Mysteries: The Eagle Guys: Patches Identified

I’m referring to these background extras:

Eagle Guys

street6

In the first picture, on the right side, that appears to be a stylized gold eagle in a red diamond on their chests, hence the name. I don’t know what’s going on with the same patch in the second picture – it looks significantly different. Perhaps it had to be repaired or replaced on set…

Anyway, operating on the hunch that this might be a real patch (don’t ask what gave me that impression, I don’t know), I re-drew it and then used that art in a reverse Google Image Search. This led me to the true identity of the patch: it is an unchanged, off-the-shelf US Army unit patch: the 45th Infantry Brigade. Besides giving us a good look at the design, it also gives us exact dimensions.

In the first picture above, you can see there are two patches on their shoulders as well. Reasoning if one was an Army patch, the others might be as well, I did the same kind of search and found the other two: the 7th Infantry Division (rotated 90 degrees on these guys), and the 7th Army.

I’m not sure if the “Motorola logo” patch seen on the left of the second picture is a US Army patch as well. I have not been able to identify one similar, despite reverse Google Image Searches of multiple orientations.

Leave a Reply

