Metropolis Money: a Preview of Coming Attractions

These banknotes are deceptively complex. And some of the vector art I’m creating is very large, for an Illustrator file. I am therefore going the unusual route of compositing these in Photoshop, which handles large files much better than AI. Here’s an example:

100M

Blurry thumbnail sample of 100’s with fake paper color added.

Compare that to what was once the only reference material available:

Mystery GIF of all three bills

Mystery GIF of all three bills

That image seems a little dark. May have white balance issues, too. I have also a mystery scan and some low-rez photos of the real deal on display in Berlin, which I am relying on heavily. Anyway, here’s a sample of my hundreds at actual size:

Extreme close-up of my replica 100 note.

Extreme close-up of my replica 100 note. Super-sharp vector master art, rasterized at 600 dpi.

The 100’s are essentially done. The 500’s are just a few elements away from being done. The 1000’s are next. All my bills will have a common back with a disclaimer, so that they can’t be mistaken for the real thing.

Leave a Reply

